corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

The American Church Dictionary and Cycopedia

Virtues, the Cardinal

Resource Toolbox
Additional Links

The four virtues, namely, Prudence, Justice, Temperance and Fortitude, which Solomon sets forth in the Book of Wisdom, VIII, 7, are called Cardinal Virtues because they are most important in the Christian Life. They may be briefly defined as follows:

PRUDENCE, choosing the right and knowing what means to employ for accomplishing it.

JUSTICE, rendering to all their dues.

TEMPERENCE, the virtue of self-control in all things.

FORTITUDE, bravery in doing God's Will.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
Miller, William James. Entry for 'Virtues, the Cardinal'. The American Church Dictionary and Cyclopedia. 1901.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

Prev Entry
Virgin Mary
Next Entry
Virtues, Theological
To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology