corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Albany, New York, Diocese of

Resource Toolbox

Embraces counties of Albany, Columbia, Delaware, Fulton, Greene, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren, and Washington, and parts of Herkimer and Hamilton counties; area, 10,419 square miles; suffragan of New York. It was the scene of the early missionary labors of Blessed Isaac Jogues and his companions, martyred within its confines. The cathedral was built by the first bishop, John McCloskey (1847-64), later cardinal. See also

  • Google Map
  • Catholic-Hierarchy.Org
  • Diocese of Albany
  • patron saints index

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Albany, New York, Diocese of'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

Prev Entry
Next Entry
To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology