corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Bath And Wells, Diocese of

Resource Toolbox

Ancient see, coextensive with Somersetshire, England, instituted 909, with AEthelhelm (909-914) as first bishop. From that time until 1244 the diocese was known under various titles, such as Somerset, Wells, Bath, and Bath and Glastonbury. The cathedral at Wells was rebuilt by Robert of Lewes (1136-1166) and restored by Jocelin Troteman (1206-1242). After the dissolution of Bath Abbey, 1539, the bishop had his seat at Wells alone. William Barlow (1549), a usurper, was succeeded by Gilbert Bourne (1554-1559), the last Catholic bishop (died 1569).

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Bath And Wells, Diocese of'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology