corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Canons Regular of the Lateran

Resource Toolbox

Originated when the clergy of the Roman Basilica of Saint John Lateran adopted the Augustinian discipline in 492 under Gelasius, disciple of Saint Augustine. Known as the Congregation of the Holy Saviour, the canons served the Lateran until c.1472when they were replaced by secular canons, though they retained their title and certain privileges. In addition to canonical duties, they serve pilgrims, tend the sick, teach, and preach. The order spread to Italy, Poland, France, Belgium, Spain, and America. In 1910 they numbered 12 abbeys, 5 priories, and 250 religious subject to the Abbe General at Rome. An affiliated congregation founded in Austria, 1140, numbered, in 1917,7 abbeys and 334 religious. The Canons Regular of Reno were united to the Lateran Congregation in 1823.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Canons Regular of the Lateran'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology