corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Dominican Republic

Resource Toolbox
Additional Links

Republic occupying the eastern part of the island of Haiti, in the West Indies; estimated area, 19,332 square miles. The island was discovered in 1492 by Columbus who named it Hispaniola, and in 1513 the See of Santo Domingo, the oldest bishopric in the New World, was established by Leo X, and erected into an archdiocese, 1547. The island remained under Spanish rule until 1844, when the natives of the eastern part established an independent republic. Catholicism is the state religion though others are permitted. The Archdiocese of Santo Domingo comprises the republic.

Archdioceses, past and present, include

  • Hyaguata
  • Santiago de los Caballeros
  • Santo Domingo

Dioceses, past and present, include:

  • Baní
  • Barahona
  • Bayuna
  • Concepción de la Vega
  • La Vega
  • Magua
  • Mao-Monte Cristi
  • Nuestra Señora de la Altagracia en Higüey
  • Puerto Plata
  • San Francisco de Macorís
  • San Juan de la Maguana
  • San Pedro de Macorís

Other ecclesiastical disivions include

  • Dominican Republic Military Ordinariate

See also:

  • World Fact Book
  • patron saints index

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Dominican Republic'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

Prev Entry
Dominical Letter
Next Entry
Dominican Sisters
To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology