corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Four Crowned Martyrs

Resource Toolbox
Additional Links

In reality five Pannonian sculptors buried in the catacomb of Saints Peter and Marcellinus, Rome, Italy. They were martyred under Diocletian for refusing to make a statue of AEsculapius for a heathen temple. Later tradition confused them with four Christian soldiers martyred at Rome two years after the death of the five sculptors. Since the names of these soldiers could not be authentically established, they are celebrated under the names of Saint Claudius, Saint Nicostratus, Saint Symphorianus, Saint Castor, and Saint Simplicius. Four martyrs buried in the catacomb of Albano are sometimes called the Four Crowned Martyrs. A basilica was erected to the Four Crowned Martyrs, on tbe Caelian Hill and their relics were removed thither, c850 Feast, for both the Pannonian and Roman martyrs, November 8,.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Four Crowned Martyrs'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology