corner graphic

Bible Dictionaries

1910 New Catholic Dictionary

Joys of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Resource Toolbox

A pious devotion to commemorate particular joyous events in the life of Our Blessed Lady. At first there were five occasions of her joy commemorated. Present practise commemorates seven: the Annunciation, Visitation, Nativity of Christ, Adoration by the Magi, Finding in the Temple, Resurrection, and Assumption. Originating in the Middle Ages, this devotion was popular in old Catholic England. The Franciscans have propagated it through their Rosary or beads of the Seven Joys. There are several, minor feasts under this title, one on the Monday after Low Sunday.

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.
Text Courtesy of Used by Permission.

Bibliography Information
Entry for 'Joys of the Blessed Virgin Mary'. 1910 New Catholic Dictionary. 1910.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology