corner graphic

Bible Encyclopedias

Cyclopedia of Biblical, Theological and Ecclesiastical Literature

Seven Sacraments

Resource Toolbox

The Council of Trent session 7, canon 1, says, "If any one shall say that the sacraments of the new law were not all instituted by Jesus Christ our Lord, or that they are more or less than seven to wit, baptism, confirmation, the eucharist, penance, extreme unction, orders, and matrimony or even that any one of these seven is not truly and properly a sacrament, let him be anathema." (See SACRAMENT).

Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
McClintock, John. Strong, James. Entry for 'Seven Sacraments'. Cyclopedia of Biblical, Theological and Ecclesiastical Literature. Harper & Brothers. New York. 1870.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology