corner graphic

Bible Encyclopedias

The Catholic Encyclopedia


Resource Toolbox

A titular see of Pamphylia Secunda, suffragan of Perga. It was a small town with no history, on the coast between Attaleia and Perga, occasionally mentioned by ancient geographers, and on numerous coins of the imperial era. Its site was probably Laara in the vilayet of Konia, where there are ruins of a small artificial harbour. The See of Magydus figures in the "Notitiae episcopatuum" until the twelfth or thirteenth century. Five bishops are known: Aphrodisius, present at the Nicene Council (325); Macedo, at Chalcedon (451); Conon, at Constantinople (553); Platon at Constantinople (680 and 692); Marinus, at Nicaea (787).

SMITH, Dict. Greek and Roman Geog., s. v.; LE QUIEN, Oriens christ., I, 1025.


Copyright Statement
These files are public domain.

Bibliography Information
Obstat, Nihil. Lafort, Remy, Censor. Entry for 'Magydus'. The Catholic Encyclopedia. Robert Appleton Company. New York. 1914.

Search for…
Enter query in the box:
Choose a letter to browse:
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M 
N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  Y  Z 

To report dead links, typos, or html errors or suggestions about making these resources more useful use our convenient contact form
Powered by Lightspeed Technology